Goodbye student life and hello working world, or is it?

After years of being in full-time education since forever. It’s finally all coming to an end and it’s time to start climbing that dreaded career ladder. It’s a sad, but an exciting and scary time for me. Not just me, but for all other students around the world too. The safe bubble that all students have managed to crawl into; the bubble being a secured three-year degree and freedom from parents is just about to pop. After three years of studying, all-nighters of essay writing and last-minute cram revising it’s finally time to step into the “so, what’s next?” stage.

Many of us fear this stage as this uncertainty of not knowing what’s next just has my stomach in knots. Some of us are lucky enough to have already secured a job or travelling abroad, but for some, it’s going to be a tough, long and winding road of rejection letters. Well for some anyway. I’ve decided to carry on with another year of studying, you’ve guessed it. I’m going to be studying a Master’s Degree in Magazine Journalism at Cardiff University. Some people have called me crazy, stupid and god knows what else for still continuing on with my studies within journalism and this at times have left me confused with what I want to do in the future and made me second-guess myself.

In my mind I was so set that journalism is the route for me and after three gruelling years of university it has actually altered my hopes and dreams of becoming a journalist, but that doesn’t mean that I don’t want to be a journalist anymore. University has taught me that the job prospects for journalism is bleak and the outcome isn’t too bright. That is why I have been so unsure of my future and whether or not I’m making the right decision in pursuing journalism as a career. Although, I may sound very negative at the moment and I sound like I am doing a Master’s degree for the sake of being in that safe bubble again for another year. I can asure you I am not. I have always loved writing and cannot wait to start my Master’s. (Considering that everything runs smoothly and I don’t fail my third year.) I am passionate about this evolving industry, it may be competitive and tough. But, I am willing to fight to get my foot in that journalism career door.

However, there is one thing for certain that I do know at the moment, and it’s that I’m not ready to take the plunge into the world of work just yet.

Leave a Reply

